Larissa Sansour Shortlisted for the 2020 Film London Jarman Award

We are pleased to announce Larissa Sansour's nomination as one of the 6 artists shortliseted for the prestigious 2020 Film London Jarman Award, which celebrates the pioneering work of the UK’s foremost artist filmmakers. Alongside Sansour, the shortlist includes Michelle Williams Gamaker, Hannah Quinlan and Rosie Hastings, Jenn Nkiru, Project Art Works and Andrea Luka Zimmerman.


The winner of the Jarman Award will be announced on 24 November. In the run-up to the event, art and film lovers can explore the work of the shortlisted artists online through a variety of  cultural venue partner websites, including the Whitechapel Gallery. There will also be a special weekend of online screenings, discussions and performances featuring all 6 shortlisted artists on 14 and 15 November.


The Jury who selected this year’s shortlist are: Andrea Lissoni, Director, Haus der Kunst, Munich, and Film London Board Member; Iwona Blazwick OBE, Director, Whitechapel Gallery; Artist and 2019 Jarman Award Winner, Hetain Patel; Shaminder Nahal, Commissioning Editor, Arts and Topical, Channel 4, and Tyrone Walker-Hebborn, Director, Genesis Cinema.


The Film London Jarman Award is presented by Film London in association with Genesis Cinema and Whitechapel Gallery.

July 6, 2020